Windows help for restoring the OS in Vista

Windows Vista is one of the new generation operating systems from Microsoft. It is equipped with a user interface which is very easy to use when compared to its predecessors. However, sometimes you might be faced with a situation where in your computer running on Windows Vista will not perform as well as before. In this case, the first thing you have to do is to scan your computer using an anti-virus program and delete all viruses detected during the process. If that didn’t work, then you can try using the System Restore feature. This feature lets you to roll back your computer settings to a previous point or, let’s say, to a point when it was working properly. This article contains information on how to use the System Restore utility of Windows Vista.

Windows help instructions

What you can find below are the instructions mentioned by Windows help team which will help you in the process of using the System Restore feature in Windows Vista.

  1. Start off by closing all currently opened windows on your computer. This includes web browsers and other offline programs.
  2. Click on the Windows “Start” button.
  3. Click on “All programs” from the start menu.
  4. Select “Accessories” from the “All Programs” list.
  5. Click on “System Tools” from the “Accessories” list.
  6. Choose “System Restore” from the “System Tools” list.
  7. Provide your administrative password if prompted to do so.
  8. When the System Restore window opens up, go through the list of options and choose the one for restoring your computer to a previous date and hit the “Next” button.
  9. Pick a date from the calendar which has now appeared on your screen. The dates for which System Restore options are available will be highlighted in bold. Decide on a date where in your Windows Vista was functioning perfectly. Click on the date and hit the “Next” button.
  10. Confirm your choice and hit the “Next” button. Now the restoring process will be initiated and it will take a few minutes to complete. Your system automatically restarts; at this time, you will be getting a notification saying that the restore operation was successful.

Once you have followed all the above mentioned Windows help instructions without any failure, your system will be restored to the chosen previous date.

Leave a Comment